Brandon Jones to be AGU President-Elect as AGU Leadership Transitions

By: ,

AGU members have elected Brandon Jones as the organization’s next president-elect, as well as electing 58 other Union officers, Board members, section officers, and student and early-career representatives to the AGU Council, and the College of Fellows chair-elect for the 2023-2024 leadership term.

Brandon Jones

Brandon Jones, Program Director for Education and Diversity for the Geosciences Directorate at NSF, has been elected President-Elect of AGU for the 2023-2024 leadership term.

With more than 16% of our membership who voted in the election that ended on 6 October, Jones, Program Director for Education and Diversity for the Geosciences Directorate at the National Science Foundation (NSF), was chosen to serve a 2-year term as president-elect starting in 2023. He will become AGU president in 2025.

As a biologist, Jones contributed to the understanding of controls on the distribution of marine planktonic larvae. As NSF Program Director, he is working to advance undergraduate and graduate education programs in the geosciences. Throughout his career, Jones has been a champion for increasing diversity and equity in science. He directed and is engaged with numerous programs focused on support and professional development for historically excluded scholars in STEM.

Jones and other newly elected leaders will take office on 1 January 2023, and about half of the current AGU Board and Council members will rotate off. New members of the Council Leadership Team will be elected after the first of the year, and committees and task forces will continue their work in support of AGU’s mission and the Board and Council work plan.

We discuss in the accompanying article the participation, timing, communications, and other details of this year’s election process.

Planning for the 2023-2024 Term
Newly elected Board and Council members will start orienting to their roles in the next few weeks by observing the upcoming virtual Board or Council meetings. Continuing Board and Council members will join new members for leadership orientation in early 2023.

Members who volunteer can make a real difference. It is rewarding work to advance AGU’s mission and vision in collaboration with colleagues from around the world. In addition to Board and Council positions, there are many volunteer opportunities for member participation in sections and Union-level committees and task forces. Time commitment depends on specific roles and responsibilities. Best of all, volunteering for AGU offers you a chance to work with other leaders, develop new skills, and influence the Earth and space science community. Members interested in volunteering should fill out our online volunteer profile. This does not obligate you but does make you discoverable during the recruiting process.

Newly Elected Officers
The Leadership Development/Governance Committee is pleased to announce the newly elected members of the AGU Board and Council. Please join us in congratulating these incoming leaders.

AGU Board of Directors
President-Elect: Brandon Jones
General Secretary: David R. Shaw
Director, Position I: Tanya Harrison
Director, Position II: Babatunde Rabiu
Director, Position III: Edith Newton Wilson

AGU Council
Student Representative: Jordan Allen
Early Career Scientist I: Lorrayne Miralha
Early Career Scientist II: Jory Lerback
Early Career Scientist III: Dana Peterson

Atmospheric and Space Electricity
President-Elect: Sonja Behnke
Secretary: Eric Bruning

Atmospheric Sciences
President-Elect: Amy Clement
Composition and Chemistry Secretary: Joost de Gouw
Physics, Dynamics, and Climate Secretary: Hui Su

President-Elect: Emily S. Bernhardt
Secretary: Tana E. Wood

Cryosphere Sciences
President-Elect: Åsa Rennermalm
Secretary: Lauren Miller Simkins

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes
President-Elect: Suzanne Anderson
Secretary: Joel Scheingross

Earth and Space Science Informatics
President-Elect: Krisa M. Arzayus
Secretary: Madison Langseth

President-Elect: Laura Lukes
Secretary: Bonnie Murray

President-Elect: Laura Wallace

President-Elect: Daniel Tong
Secretary: Jennifer Stowell

Geomagnetism, Paleomagnetism, and Electromagnetism
President-Elect: Steven Constable

Global Environmental Change
President-Elect: Jonathan H. Jiang

President-Elect: Venkataraman Lakshmi
Secretary: Jennifer Druhan

Mineral and Rock Physics
President-Elect: Renata Wentzcovitch

Natural Hazards
President-Elect: Christelle Wauthier
Secretary: Carolynne Hultquist

Near-Surface Geophysics
President-Elect: Jonathan Ajo-Franklin
Secretary: Sebastian Uhlemann

Nonlinear Geophysics
President-Elect: Enrico Camporeale
Secretary: Brad Weir

Ocean Sciences
President-Elect: Janet Sprintall
Biological Oceanography Secretary: Angelicque E. White
Physical Oceanography Secretary: Robert Chant

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
President-Elect: Matthew Kirby

Planetary Sciences
President-Elect: Wendy Calvin
Secretary: Sarah Hörst

Science and Society
President-Elect: Kripa Jagannathan
Secretary: Rosie Oakes

President-Elect: Rachel Abercrombie
Secretary: Germán A. Prieto

Space Physics and Aeronomy
President-Elect: Katharine Reeves
Solar-Heliospheric Physics Secretary: Hazel Bain
Aeronomy Secretary: Scott England

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior
President-Elect: Nicholas Schmerr
Secretary: Dan A. Frost

President-Elect: Lisa McNeill
Secretary: Jacqueline Austermann

Volcanology, Geochemistry, and Petrology
President-Elect: Marie Edmonds
Geochemistry Secretary: Sujoy Mukhopadhyay
Volcanology and Petrology Secretary: Luca Caricchi

College of Fellows
Chair-Elect of the College of Fellows: Sybil Seitzinger

There are no comments

Add yours