AGU Names 2015 Section and Focus Group Awardees and Named Lecturers


By Eric Davidson, President-elect, American Geophysical Union (AGU) and Chair, AGU Council, and Sam Mukasa, Chair, 2015-2016 Honors and Recognition Committee

On behalf of AGU leaders and staff, we give our heartfelt congratulations to all of this year’s Section and Focus Group awardees and named lecturers.

Listed below are the scientists, in various stages of their careers, who have been selected by AGU sections and focus groups to receive awards in 2015.  Also listed are those individuals chosen to present lectures under the annual Bowie Lecture Series as well as the Section and Focus Group Named Lecture Series.  The Bowie Lecture was inaugurated in 1989 to commemorate the fiftieth presentation of the William Bowie Medal, which is named for AGU’s first president and is the highest honor given by AGU.  The Bowie lecturers are denoted by asterisks.  Named lecturers are designated by sections and focus groups to honor distinguished scientists in their respective fields of science.

We thank all Sections and Focus Groups for giving these recognitions to their well-deserving colleagues.  These awardees/lecture recipients represent some of the most innovative minds in their fields.  We recognize their continuing meritorious work and service towards the advancement and promotion of discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity.

We thank you and look forward to recognizing their achievements at the 2015 AGU Fall Meeting, to be held 14-18 December in San Francisco.

Atmospheric Sciences Section

Ascent Award                             

Andrew Gettelman, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
Jiwan Fan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Allen Robinson, Carnegie Mellon University
Allison Steiner, University of Michigan

James R. Holton Junior Scientist Award

Chunsong Lu, Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology

Yoram J. Kaufman Unselfish Cooperation in Research Award

Brent Holben, NASA
Christos Zerefos, University of Athens

Bjerknes Lecture*

Kerry Emanuel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Charney Lecture*

Meinrat Andreae, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry

Atmospheric and Space Electricity Focus Group

Franklin Lecture

Paul Krehbiel, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology

Biogeosciences Section

Sulzman Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring

Ruth Varner, University of New Hampshire

William and Carelyn Reeburgh Lecture                

Gary King, Louisiana State University

Cryosphere Focus Group

Cryosphere Early Career Award

Sarah Kapnick, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Nye Lecture

Eric Rignot, University of California, Irvine

Earth and Planetary Surface Processes Focus Group

G.K. Gilbert Award in Surface Processes

Robert Anderson, University of Colorado, Boulder

Luna B. Leopold Award

Vamsi Ganti, California Institute of Technology

Sharp Lecture

Vamsi Ganti, California Institute of Technology

Earth and Space Science Informatics Focus Group

Leptoukh Lecture

Dawn Wright, Environmental Systems Research Institute

Geodesy Section

Geodesy Section Award

Matt Pritchard, Cornell University

Ivan I. Mueller Award for Service and Leadership

Charles Meertens, UNAVCO

William Bowie Lecture*

Daniel Dzurisin, USGS Cascades Volcano Observatory

Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism Section

William Gilbert Award

Michael Jackson, University of Minnesota

Bullard Lecture*

Steven Constable, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Global Environmental Change Focus Group

Schneider Lecture 

Donald Wuebbles, University of Illinois at Urbana

Tyndall Lecture

Julie Brigham-Grette, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Hydrology Section

Early Career Hydrologic Science Award

Tom Gleeson, University of Victoria

Horton Research Grant

Laura Stevens, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Emily Voytek, Colorado School of Mines
Adam Wlostowski, Colorado State University

Hydrologic Sciences Award

Dara Entekhabi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Langbein Lecture*

Tissa Illangasekare, Colorado School of Mines

Mineral and Rock Physics Focus Group

Mineral and Rock Physics Early Career Award

Nicolas Brantut, University College London

Mineral and Rock Physics Graduate Research Award

Yun-Yuan Chang, Academica Sinica
Zhang Dongzhou, California Institute of Technology

Natural Hazards Focus Group

Natural Hazards Focus Group Award for Graduate Research

Cheng Linyin, University of California, Irvine

Gilbert F. White Lecture

Susan Cutter, University of South Carolina

Nonlinear Geophysics Focus Group

Donald L. Turcotte Award

Behzad Ghanbarian-Alavijeh, University of Texas at Austin
Jezabel Curbelo, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid

Space Weather and Nonlinear Waves and Processes Prize

Gurbax Lakhina, Indian Institute of Geomagnetism

Lorenz Lecture

Shaun Lovejoy, McGill University

Ocean Sciences Section

Ocean Sciences Early Career Award

Angel White, Oregon State University

Ocean Sciences Award

Don Rice, National Science Foundation

Carson Lecture

Mary Jane Perry, University of Maine

Sverdup Lecture

Fiamma Straneo, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology Focus Group

Dansgaard Award

Adina Paytan, University of California, Santa Cruz

Planetary Sciences Section

Ronald Greeley Early Career Award in Planetary Science

Ian Garrick-Bethell, University of California, Santa Cruz

Whipple Award and Lecture

Alfred McEwen, University of Arizona

Sagan Lecture

John Asher Johnson, Harvard University

Shoemaker Lecture*

William Bottke, Southwest Research Institute

Seismology Section

Keiiti Aki Young Scientist Award

Sanne Cottar, University of Cambridge

Gutenberg Lecture*

Kazushige Obara, University of Tokyo

Space Physics and Aeronomy Section

Basu United States Early Career Award

Timothy Duly, University of Illinois at Urbana

Fred L. Scarf Award

Majd Matta, Boston University

Space Physics and Aeronomy Richard Carrington Education and Public Outreach Award

Charles Chappell, Vanderbilt University

Sunanda and Santimay Basu Early Career Award in Sun-Earth Systems Science

Chaowei Jiang, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Eugene Parker Lecture

Phil Scherrer, Stanford University

James Van Allen Lecture*

Michelle Thomsen, Planetary Institute Tucson

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Focus Group

Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Graduate Research Award

Matt Weller, Rice University

Tectonophysics Section

Jason Morgan Early Career Award

Lijun Liu, University of Illinois at Urbana

Birch Lecture*

Kelin Wang, Geological Survey of Canada

Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology Section

Hisashi Kuno Award

Chris Huber, Georgia Institute of Technology

Norman L. Bowen Award and Lecture

Tom Sisson, United States Geological Survey

Daly Lecture*

Katharine Cashman, University of Bristol

Joint Award:  Geodesy, Seismology, and Tectonophysics Sections

Paul G. Silver Award

Robert Smith, University of Utah

Joint Lecture:  Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology (PP) and Ocean Sciences (OS)

Emiliani Lecture

Alan Mix, Oregon State University

There are no comments

Add yours