National Academy of Sciences 2023-2024 Elected Members


One of the best parts of my role as your president is recognizing and honoring the incredible individual achievements of the members who comprise our inspiring community.

On behalf of AGU, I want to congratulate those members who have been elected in 2023 and 2024 to the National Academy of Sciences.  AGU is proud of your contributions to the Earth and space sciences. This recognition is truly deserving, and we are so proud to count all of you as members and colleagues.

We celebrate this extraordinary achievement with you and your families and wish you all continued success in your future endeavors.

Join me in congratulating:

  • Emily S. Bernhardt, Duke University – Biology
  • Geoffrey Blewitt, The University of Nevada – Nevada Bureau of Mines & Geology
  • Robert J. Bodnar, Virginia Tech — Geosciences
  • Emily E. Brodsky, University of California – Earth & Planetary Sciences
  • Nicolas Dauphas, University of Chicago —Geophysical Sciences
  • Michael S. Diamond, Washington University School of Medicine – Molecular, Microbiology, Pathology, and Immunology
  • Qiang Fu, University of Washington – Atmospheric Sciences
  • Catherine L. Johnson, University of British Columbia – Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Paul S. Julienne, University of Maryland – Physics
  • William B. McKinnon, Washington University – Earth and Planetary Science
  • Jonathan T. Overpeck, University of Michigan – Environment and Sustainability
  • Ann Pearson, Harvard University – Earth & Planetary Sciences
  • Andrew M. Prentice, The Gambia London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine – International Nutrition
  • Drew T. Shindell, Duke University – Environmental Science
  • Lynne Talley, University of California – Oceanography
  • Meenakshi Wadhwa, University of Arizona – Earth and Space Exploration
  • Shuhai Xiao, Virginia Tech – Geosciences